Biking 300 Miles for The Climate!

Posted on March 17, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Hi everyone! Kristin Schulz here – Clean Currents’ Residential Outreach Coordinator.
 
On behalf of Clean Currents and with the future of our beautiful planet in mind, I have decided to participate in this year’s Climate Ride – a 300 mile bike ride from New York City to Washington DC! The event is helping raise money and awareness to support the environment. Although it will definitely be a challenge (I’m no cyclist…yet) – I’m excited to take this on because it will be an incredible adventure and a wonderful way to support a better environment. 

A couple weeks ago I started training – I’ll have to be able to complete 60 miles each day for 5 days! The journey will take place May 13th-17th, so I’m working hard to get ready. My rides have been fun so far since I’m meeting some of the other climate riders and discovering beautiful trails around Washington, DC.
 
This is going to be an unforgettable experience so I want to share my stories with you along the way. I’ll be representing Clean Currents the entire way by tweeting and blogging throughout the ride. Follow me @cleancurrents and get updates from all the riders at http://www.climateridelive.org/ and on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/climateride.

My fundraising goal is $2,400. Proceeds from the Climate Ride support important projects at a collection of nine organizations focused on green jobs, clean energy, climate education, and bicycle infrastructure. Any support you can give would be greatly appreciated! See my donation page: http://climateride.donordrive.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=donorDrive.participant&eventID=501&participantID=1216
 
Hope you enjoy following me on my ride!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

