Riding into the Wind

Posted on April 11, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Climate Ride COUNTDOWN: 32 days!

For anyone who has never been out on an all-day ride just for the fun of it – let me say it is a wonderful experience. This is my new favorite weekend activity! The simplicity of riding on a trail with friends, enjoying the fresh air and scenery while boosting those endorphins just can’t be beat 🙂

It’s 7 weeks into training and can’t believe how much I’m enjoying myself. This is the first time I’ve had to train for anything long-distance and I’ve probably done as much cycling in the past couple months as I have my entire life! Thank goodness I’m not the only one who is trying this out for the first time. There is a large group of registered Climate Riders around DC and some of us have gotten together a few times for groups rides. These people are so energized and are helping keeping me motivated and excited about the big challenge ahead of us.

Here are some photos of the group I rode with along the Washington & Old Dominion trail from Vienna, VA to Leesburg, VA. The ride was 25 miles each way and included a stop for lunch. Most of us did not know one another before this outing. Now I can’t wait to ride with these awesome people again soon!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Yesterday, I completed a 30 mile ride to Mt. Vernon, Virginia and am feeling more comfortable and confident on the road bike each time I’m on it. The weekend before last was my first ride using clip-in shoes and pedals. A little nerve racking at first when you consider the new falling risk – but definitely helps you go faster and straight forward enough to get used to.

Training is just part of the challenge – we must each also raise $2,400 in order to participate. Clean Currents is being extremely supportive in this endeavor. Not only are they working to get the word out, but they have also purchased a brand new bike so that anyone who donates to me can be entered in a drawing to win it!

Along the ride I will be representing Clean Currents as much as possible. Since I’m riding with Team 350, we will have the entire team wearing “Get Plugged In” T-shirts one day of the ride. I will also be given an opportunity to speak to the group about the ease and benefits of supporting wind power.

Now that there’s just over a month left, it’s time to start thinking more about the gear I’ll need (we’ll be camping out multiple nights).

Awesome people + being outdoors + promoting our environment = PURE JOY! 

If you would like to contribute to the cause, please visit my donation page:
http://climateride.donordrive.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=donorDrive.participant&participantID=1216

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Riding into the Wind”

RSS Feed for Clean Currently Comments RSS Feed

Countdown por favor


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

